top of page

Finish or Not To Finish


All I did was just finishing a book and I thought, I thought I was just finishing a book. - dyh


This supposed to be travelling experience blog. But I have to admit about my other hobby that consume me. I like to read. Like, really really love it (even my sisters call me “book dragon”). It is actually started when I was in university. I was not because of my major (which is English Literature). Somehow, books just caught me and made me in love with it. Until today, I have collected and read so many. From bestseller to the cheeky chicklit. Each of them has its own place in my heart. Some books are really mean a lot, while some just a passerby. But, is that all? Of course no.


I bring book anywhere. It is typical for western people to bring book to anywhere that they are going. It is totally unsual for Indonesian (like me) to bring book anywhere. “Why would you read while you have that damn expensive phone?” my brother ask. At first, I didn’t know how to answer that. I just thought it would make me look cool in public places. Made me look like “western people”. In fact, I find something deeper than “being cool”. I bring it everywhere becaue I love it. I really want to understand the story. I want to know what happens to the character. I want to know why A effecting B and creating C.


Earlier this year, while I was writing my thesis, I got a chance to visit Tokyo, Japan. Yes, I brought book. I brought book that related to my thesis. Last September, I did the same. That time, I was reading The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo. Mainstream? I don’t mind. I read everything. At first, I kinda find it hard to read it. I was not in my best moment to read. I was just finish writing my damn hundreds pages of thesis and read thousands pages novels over and over again. I was “book drunk”. However, I pushed myself. I have to read. Even though it was just 1 chapter.


I would be honest, that book blew my mind. It was written so good, I couldn’t guess what happened next (ps: I haven’t watched the movie). Once I finished the book, I feel like Blomkvist and I share the same thing. If you get some tasks, finish it. Like Blomkvist, he force himself to finish the task he was given. I force myself to finish that book. Blomkvist end up relieve and so I am. There are things that are given or served for us to finish. Just like our lives. This is a journey that we should take. The questions are: 1) Do you want to finish it? and 2) How are you going to finish it? Bad, Okay, Average, Good, or Best?

(photo credit: news.uci.edu)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page