top of page

Live and Life in Dubai

What comes to your mind when you heard this name, DUBAI? Burj Khalifa? Great sport car? Dessert? Those are the things that you can see here in Dubai. It's like any other city with it's crazy lifestyle. What you see on the internet are true. That long range rover limo, latest Ferrari on the road. Yup, that's my daily view (for now). 


I got a lot of questions ever since. Is it nice to live in Dubai? How's the weather? How can you get a job there? How's the pay? Meshi mudir! I will tell you everything. EVERYTHING single thing that you need to know about life in Dubai. Let me put it in nice and amazing order. Before that, I just want to let you all know I cam here all alone. No friends, no family, ALONE. How to cope that? Being friendly and social - remember those apps such as tinder (yup. Use that to get some friends). 


1. How do I get a job in Dubai?

I have to be honest, this is by God's grace. I sent my cv's to a lot of company. I applied through catererglobal, hotel's job website and all other vacancy website. Once I applied, I kept doing my job and go on. Since I applied through the hotel's website (and catererglobal), it didn't get through any agent. The HR sent me email, set up an interview, did interview, go on to 2nd interview, contract signed, medical checkup, stamping the medical report, apply for visa, waiting for ticket, and arrived in Dubai. 


2. How does it feel working in Dubai?

For me personally? I love it! Why? Let me tell you something about me. I've suffered with light depression and it's not fun. My environment back was not so good for me. So once this offer came, I took it right away. Life and work here is nice - though it can be depressing as well since all you do is work and sleep and work and sleep and work and sleep. That constant cycle can be very bery depressing. I could say life in Dubai is the same as in Jakarta. People go to the mall, shop, spend money and stuffs. I would say it's even crazier here as every weekend there will be discount and free parking at the mall 🤣. Sounds like people are forced to spend money at the mall, but that's how it is. And so far - since my boyfriend is here - I'm handling it well. Rather than spend in mall, sometimes I  just look for cheap thrills around.


The other good thing is the strict rule in the road. You have to ne careful about where you cross the street, red lights and taking metro. There are 2 classes of metro and you have to be in the right section. There's always fine for everything. If you forgot to tap your card in the bus, then you'll get fine. During Ramadan, it's quiet. It is surprised me. I thought it somehow might be like a lot of iftar with family and friends - nope it's only in Indonesia. Short work hour is for every single worker. No matter if it's private or government. It's given to everyone. 


3. How is the pay and the living cost?

It's the same as in Jakarta! Seriously! The thing is, less traffic jam. But the living cost and payment, it's all back to you guys. If you spend less and save more - there you can have it. But if you keep seeing discounts and buy it, there will be no spot for saving. It's also expensive as there's VAT that's just been added earlier this year. Somehow, feels not as much expensive as Singapore - but it still expensive. However! Since I'm in the hotel, so my accommodation; transportation and food are included. That's how the hotel works here. 


4. Can you help me to get a job in Dubai? 

GUYS! Seriously! Tell me, please tell me why you want to work in Dubai? Like why? This is not the first time I got the message about this. I'm just curious you know, why are you so eager to work in Dubai. Pride? Salary? "Just want to work outside the country"? I'll tell you what, it's not for everyone my friend! If you ask me "are you proud to be able to work abroad?" Not really. It's not really my intention. The only reason I'm here is for my wellness - you know getaway from bad environment. 


5. What makes you stay in Dubai then? 

My job, my mental health and my boyfriend. At the moment this is the job that I have and I love it. My mental is in a good state at the moment - drama free and positively environment. And yeah... let's just say it's kind of high school romance where you want to meet your lover all the time (yeah. I'm in that stage). 


Life in Dubai has changed me a lot, mentally and physically. Personally, I've been a better person ever since. My mental is healthier but in the same time, I have to learn to use my liberty correctly. You can get everything whatever you want here. It's back to you, how you want to use it. You can be whatever you want to be here. Life here is amazing and depressing at the same time. There are tons of opportunity here. So not to worry. 


Kalas! That's all for now. If you have any questions, please drop your questions below and I'll answer it! 







Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page