top of page

War Remnant Museum: A War Through Vietnam's Eyes

I can't stand myself not to tell you all about this. About why I love Saigon so much. People ask "why Vietnam? why not Singapore or any other better countries?" Well, I'll tell you. The history that I saw made me in love with it. I spent 5 days in Ho Chi Minh (which is too long and I know that). Well, it was cozy and slow travel that I did. So that's why I stuck there for 5 days. But it was worth it!


We all know that Vietnam is nice, fun and cheap (freakishly cheap!). 1 bottle of beer is 1USD. Complete Pho lunch package, 3USD. You will definitely feel so rich over there. However, the war will always come up when you hear the word "Vietnam". It is still attached until today. The war that they did, was part of them now. Part everyone. Everyone know and everyone tell. They are the descendant of the soldier of the war.


So one of the place that I visited was the Vietnam War Remnant Museum. I've read few reviews about it before went to the museums. Some are not a fan of it because they thought it's "wrong". I'll just be objective. For example, you are slapped; hit; kicked; hung; and punched mercilessly by someone. Will you ever tell a good thing about that person? I don't think so. That's also what happen in the museum. Of course they wouldn't praising the other side. They want to tell the story from their point of view. I don't think it's wrong at all.


There's admission fee, at 15.000 VND. The museums consists of 3 stories. It was raining when I came. So, I couldn't see all exhibition in the park area. The museums shows mostly pictures, some military tools and diorama. The first level is an exhibition of the news and anti-war artworks. Remember that photo of a naked kid in the middle of street? yes, it is shown here (not on the 1st floor). Poetry and some quotes against the war are also shown here.


The second floor is the war time documentations area. There are thousands of photos documentations of what happen during the war. Burned buildings, victims, and some guns. It is overwhelming to come to this museums for me. I knew the story, we knew the story about the Vietnam war. But we never actually saw what happen in Vietnam. There are stories about the gas Agent Orange (gas war).


The third floor os the peace room. It shows the after effect of the war. The Agent Orang of course doesn't only affect the Vietnam people and their generations. It was also affecting the American soldiers. There are stories and photos about the soldiers who came home but not really home. Some of them died because of severe PTSD. In this floor, there are also some notable journalist who died while reporting the news.


​My first impression when I finished this museum tour was, did people never really learn? It stuck it my head why gas (since I created a thesis about World War 1)? It is effective but really the worst. It makes the victims not really dead, yet not alive either. War is never the answer. If you open the wikipedia, look for the original name of the museum. I can totally understand why they gave that name. Don't bring kids here. Unless they are 12 years and understand that they are in a museums. I found there are some kids who are actually got bored (weird enough to find none of them scared) by visiting this museums.


For some people, they will find this museum is boring (like my brother), only showing pictures. I am not judging them at all. I am saying this place is not for everyone. The museums would like to tell the whole truth of what's happening in Vietnam through their eyes. They wanted show the best evidence they could get to show it. If I were to come to Ho Chi Minh again, I might come again and just excerpt the whole story. Also, I need to see one in the US (my friend told me it was also good). Some pictures are just too cruel to be shown. How the war affect the people and its generation, it hurts. The generation of the Agent Orang are still around. You will find them on your way to the Cu Chi Tunnel. Also, I think you will need to join in this tour if you want to understand the war even deeper. You can try to get into the small tunnel.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page