top of page

Forever Love, Japan

There's something about Japan that makes me keep coming back - aside from the face that my best friend lives there. The atmosphere and environment is so chill, I literally miss it right after I step on my feet in the airport.


So on September 22 - 29, I flew again to Japan. Was it worth it? Reminding, this is my 2nd time - IT WAS! The first time I went was on 2016 and a lot of things have changes ever since. Both trip, I was alone and only met by my best friend in the airport. Yes, again I'm only exploring Tokyo. However, I feel like in this trip I feel a wiser and braver.


Okay, let's cut to the chase and let me tell the difference.


I still remember back in 2016, there were not much people spoke English. It was quite difficult to actually buy something - especially if you are in the market. Now? Everyone at least can speak a bit of English! I was actually went to a small ramen shop in Ginza and I would like to know if the broth contains pork or not. Surprisingly, the seller speaks English quite good! I was surprised and impressed how 3 years can change a lot of things. I also notice that in all machines (ATM, Train Station or even to order food) it has "Languages" section - where you can change to some major languages. It's very handy and easy! Last but not least, most of the people back then was always carrying "Pocket Wi-Fi" as it was quite difficult to get free Wi-Fi. In 2019 (in my opinion) you won't need to rent Pocket Wi-Fi anymore. Public Wi-Fi is available everywhere - literally EVERYWHERE! In every train station, major districts (Shinjuku, Harajuku, Shibuya, Urayasu and some more), convenient stores, cafes, and many many more! I did rent Pocket Wi-Fi, but when I found out I felt kind of useless (again, if you are always connected to social media and internet then you might still need the Pocket Wi-Fi).


So if there are a lot of changes, what stays the same? Their kindness and willingness to help. Don't be afraid to ask for assistance from them, even though the English might not perfect but their willingness to help you all is awesome. For 4 days, I was strolling the town on my own. My Japanese is basic (read: ARIGATŌ GOZAIMASU)


Will I ever coming back to Japan - Tokyo? Yes I will.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page