top of page

Postcard from Malacca


To you fellow traveler who are going to Malacca,


I have been to Malaysia 6th times and I never get tired of it. However, Kuala Lumpur seems to be "mainstream" for me. I took my chance and decided to go to Malacca instead. I read on the internet, all kinds of blogs and forum, and said that you only need 1 day to spend time in Malacca (even my friend said so). Since I am stubborn, I booked 3 days for a dorm in Malacca. Oh boy! I did not regret it. I wish I could spend more time to have lazy days in Malacca.


I had a quite short trip, November 14 - 18. I entered from Singapore on the 14th and leave to Malacca on 15th. I met 2 girls who happened also went to the same route (thanks couchsurfing!). We share the same room and bus. We took the bus from Queen Street to Casa Del Rio - Malacca (mo, we did not stay in Casa Del Rio), at 08.30 AM. The bus took for almost 5 hours (including the border checked and restroom stop). Once we arrived in Casa Del Rio, we went straight to the dorm, Ola Lavanderia Cafe. I did not have my Malaysian number (I did but it was expired). I asked people around for the address. Turned out, it was not so hard to be found! I read all this reviews from all hostel reservation site and this place has a great review, 9.7! I did not expect much but I got more than I needed. The dorm is consist of 5 beds and that's all. It has 2 bathroom, toiletries, hair dryer, hair straightener, and perfect light during the day to take picture. They give great breakfast and also sell amazing postcard.


After a short rest, we went out to get Malaysian number then had lunch. We had lunch at this amazing Thai restaurant which took 1 minute away from our place. Please bare as I will reveal all the price below ^^. I had an amazing Pad Thai and cold lemon tea. Few steps from the restaurant, we were welcomed by the Malacca River. However, we were stoked by the mural by the river. If you have been to Haji Lane, this is the Haji Lane of Malacca. The colour in the wall is vibrant and the sun light makes it eve better. You might want to visit this and take bunch of picture for your instagram for sure.


Afterwards, we went to the St. Paul Hills, Stadhyus and the Christ Church. These places are free and near towards one another. Yes, these are the tourist places that you have to visit. Yes, you could say my trip has done. There are a lot of museums available to be visited around this area. These places are close to one another you can take a walk in just minutes away.



Since it's monsoon, I would not be surprised that we could not really enjoy the night. The first night, we found out that most of restaurants and shops are closed at 6pm and it's raining. Sam, the owner of Ola Lavanderia, told us that shops are closed at 6pm and we might needed to go a bit further for foods. He even recommend us to visit one of the famous lok-lok stall in Malacca. Anyway, on the first night, we decided to stay in a cafe by the river for beer and snack. Then we head out for lok-lok and soup. We end the night after the rain won't stop and our full stomach.


Second day, I woke up fresh and hungry. I went out to the cafe and ordered the breakfast they had. It was a huge breakfast for me. It taste so good. I did not regret anything from the place I stayed. It took me awhile to finish all of my breakfast, but I was happy with it. At 11, we were ready to head out and look for some more places. We went to Baba Mama Museum (no, we didn't get inside), The Malacca House, The Jonker Heritage Walk, then had a cold Cendol Ice for the day. The day was hot and sunny that I glad I bought that Durian Cendol. A friend of mine wanted to get a bowl of laksa. So we went to Calanthe Art Cafe, which located across the restaurant we had last night. It has a beautiful rainforest feeling that makes you feel warm and calm.


My friend and I decided to rent a bike to get to Klebang beach and Malacca Mosque. It was risky I would say. First, we went through the main road. Second, it was a hot day. Third, it was pretty far. Well, from Ola Lavanderia to the Klebang beach took 11km. Then from Klebang to the Mosque it took 8.7 km; and from the Mosque back to the Ola Lavanderia took 3.8km. Leg days, yeay! Less talk, here are the pictures you all deserve.


At night, we tried out luck to try Chicken Rice Ball (which is fun and good). It was a traditional Hainanese Chicken Rice, but they made the rice into a ball. You can share this food and it will be cheaper. Then we head out to the lok-lok stall that Sam told us. It was called Capitol Satay Celup (picture of Satay Celup is not mine). The difference is, they use some ingredients (nuts and spices) instead of broth. It created some fragrance of spices, like Indian food. I have to say I am not a fan of this, but it does have different taste than any other lok-lok. We took a walk and took different route to get back to our dorm. We did find great spot from Instagram (but watch out for cars!)


(source: https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/03/08/db/45/lok-lok.jpg)

Third day and last day in Malacca, I just had breakfast in the cafe (again). I just love their breakfast so much. It was raining during the day. I was glad that during my time in Malacca, there were no rain during the day. I could enjoy my day. We went to the Melaka Sentral after breakfast, at 12pm. We took uber for less than half an hour. Then we bought ticket to Kuala Lumpur.


Malacca is known as one of the UNESCO World Heritage City, but I see it as one of the city where I could be lazy. Sunday Morning by Maroon 5 would be the perfect soundtrack for this city. I would spend more time just to have lazy days and slow work day in this city. I would say all of these places are touristy places, so you kind of have to visit. However, I was pretty let down with the beach though. I probably won't suggested this (but hey! It's only my opinion). Overall, I am very happy with this trip, especially the dorm I stayed. I am not paid to say these, but I am really happy with my stay in Ola Lavanderia and the kindess of the owner, Sam. It was a very pleasant stay. Malacca is more than just World Heritage City, it's an instagramable city.



Yours truly,

Benita


*p.s: you might want to try to Malacca tuk-tuk with all colours, dolls and loud music.


*p.s.s: here's the cost breakdown (except the one in Singapore and KL):

- First Day:

Bus to Malacca: 15.59SGD (bought online)

Ola Lavanderia: 76MYR (38MRY/ night)

Pad Thai: 15.50MYR

number: 25MYR

Asahi: 15MYR

lok-lok: 10MYR

- Second Day:

Breakfast: 10MYR

Postcard: 10MYR

Ice: 6MYR

Keychain: 16MYR

Bike: 18MYR (6 MYR/ hr for tandem bike)

Lok lok: 8.20MYR

Chicken Rice Ball: 13MYR

- Third Day:

Breakfast: 10 MYR

Bus ticket: 12 MYR

Uber: 2 MYR (6MYR for 3 Person)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page