top of page

(Almost) Solo

so·lo /ˈsōlō/

adjective & adverb

for or done by one person alone; unaccompanied.

If you follow my instagram, I guess you have seen some pictures from my Vietnam’s trip (more like HCMC’s trip). I stayed there for some days. I didn’t catch any other places and I was a bit disappointed. However, I didn’t plan it in the first place anyway. So I didn’t hate it that much. There are a lot new experiences that I got during the trip and I could safely say that, I’m addicted with solo traveling.


First of all, I went to Ho Chi Minh with a friend. We met in Kuala Lumpur and went together to Ho Chi Minh. It was my very first time to go all alone. Was I scared? yes. I almost cried actually because my friend didn’t come and I couldn’t contact him. It was crazy but I managed it. We spent the night in the airport and flew in the morning. Once arrived, we actually lost because the hostel that we were staying has different address than it was on the site. After 30 mins, the owner came and we arrived in the hostel. We had rest, food and all went well.


We both had different goal. So we decided that we would just go on separate ways and back when we need rest. If you ever visited HCMC you know the crazy traffic there. It was crazy as everyone just go on their way. It’d take a lot of courage for you to cross the street. Even for me, who has lived in Jakarta for years I couldn’t cope with that. It scares me. However, it is safe for me to say that this is the most memorable travel ever! Why? This is the very first time that I went all alone. I did went to Japan on my own, but my friend was there. Technically, I was alone on my way and not entire trip.


This is something new for me, but I learn about freedom on it. It is okay to be on your own sometimes. Just you and the new world. It is okay to be alone and get lost. I find myself better when I am alone. So I took a tour to Cu Chi Tunnel outside Saigon). I thought I was the only solo traveler in that group, but then I met a fellow solo traveler. We talked about our trip, the tour and end up having lunch together. It is so weird for me because I always wanted this to happen and it did! I thought it was only in the movie or something that just happen between instagrammers. They all are everywhere. Thanks to this fellow traveler, I learn to talk more than I usually do, more helpful than I usually do, and braver than I was. I ate food I never had before (not the dog meat for sure), I talked about the topic I never talked about before. All this experience I got from getting lost all by myself.


It is scary to all alone in a new world that we don’t know. The hardest part is taking the first step. I have to convince myself hundred times that I can do this, that I can go on my own. Everything else will be easier after it. After a while, you will find some people who are also walking all by themselves. Say hi or wait for them so they won’t be left by the bus. Now you’re not on your own anymore.

“Traveling solo does not always mean you’re alone. Most often, you meet marvelous people along the way and make connections that last a lifetime.” – Jacqueline Boone

*Bonus: here are some pictures of the Cu Chi Tunnel (unedited).

No, it’s only the 2nd level and there is 3rd level of underground. Yes, it’s so small I realized I’m claustrophobic.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page